2020 Judges


Gerry Apostolatos

Lawyer, Partner-Montreal; Immediate past Co-Chair 0f Board of Directors

Langlois Lawyers LLP



Marc B. Barbeau

Chair of the Firm

Stikeman Elliott LLP



Mark T. Bennett

Managing Partner

Cassels Brock & Blackwell LLP




Daniel Bourque

Associate General Counsel, KPMG Canada

and Canadian Corporate Counsel Association – CHAIR



James Buchan

Firm Managing Partner

Gowling WLG



Lynn Burns

Executive Director

Pro Bono Ontario




Jeffrey Cohen

Managing Partner

Torkin Manes LLP



George Cooper, QC

Chief Executive Officer and Partner

Cox & Palmer



Bindu Cudjoe

Senior Vice President, General Counsel & Corporate Secretary

Canadian Western Bank and Vice President Women General Counsel Canada




Tom Curry

Managing Partner

Lenczner Slaght



Daniel Desjardins

Chairman Bombardier Transportation

Bombardier Inc



Peter Feldberg

Firm Managing Partner

Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP




Cheryl Foy

University Secretary and General Counsel

Ontario Tech University and Past President (2019), President (2018), (Co-Chair) 2016, Founder Women General Counsel Canada



Yonni Fushman

Executive Vice President, CLO & Secretary

Aecon Group Inc. and Past Chair Ontario Bar Association’s Construction and Infrastructure Law section



Fernando Garcia

Vice President, Legal





Deborah R. Greenberg

Chief Information Officer

Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation



David Gunasekera

Managing Partner

DuMoulin Black LLP



Elspeth Hagan

General Counsel, Global Compliance

McCain Foods Limited and President - Women General Counsel Canada




Ian Holloway, PC, CD, QC

Professor and Dean of Law

The University of Calgary



Charles E. Hurdon

Managing Partner

Norton Rose Fulbright Canada LLP



Dominique Hussey

Vice Chair, Toronto Managing Partner

Bennett Jones LLP




Philippe Johnson

Managing Partner, Montreal




Kevin J. Kiley

Managing Partner

McInnes Cooper



Lynn Korbak

General Counsel and Corporate Secretary

Toromont Industries Ltd.




James Kosa

Partner, Technology and IP

WeirFoulds LLP



Justin Kutyan

National Leader and Senior Partner




Michael Ladha

Legal Counsel & Assistant Corporate Secretary

Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro




Daphne Lainson

Chair of the Firm

Smart & Biggar



Dale H. Lastman, C.M.


Goodmans LLP



Kikelomo Lawal

Chief Legal Officer and Corporate Secretary

Interac Corp.




Mark Le Blanc

General Counsel




Tony Linardi

General Counsel, Corporate Secretary & Principal

Golder Associates Ltd.



Av Maharaj

Vice President HR, Corporate and Legal Affairs

KraftHeinz Canada




Blair McCreadie

Managing Partner, Toronto

Dentons Canada LLP



John G. Murphy

National Managing Partner & CEO

Borden Ladner Gervais LLP



Judy Naiberg

Vice President, Legal

Rogers Communications and Director – Conference Co-Chair Women General Counsel Canada




Lorne O'Reilly

Lead Counsel

Dow Chemical Canada ULC and VP & Treasurer and Member of the Board of Directors- Alberta Chapter, Association of Corporate Counsel



Paul Paton, JSD

Thomas W. Lawlor QC Professor of Law and Ethics

Faculty of Law, University of Alberta

Visiting Scholar, American Bar Foundation (2019-20)


Robert Piasentin

Former General Counsel at Sierra Systems Group Inc. and Founding Member,

First President and Former Board Member,

Association of Corporate Counsel - British Columbia Chapter




Leola Pon

In-House Counsel

Toronto District School Board



Karrin A. Powys-Lybbe


Torys LLP



Emmanuel Pressman

Chair, Corporate Department

Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP




Clifford G. Proudfoot, QC

Managing Partner

Lawson Lundell LLP



Poonam Puri

Professor of Law

Osgoode Hall Law School York University



Dorothy Quann

Chair of the Law & Business Advocacy Council

Ted Rogers School of Management




Robert Seidel, Q.C.

Canada Managing Partner

DLA Piper



Julia Shin Doi

General Counsel, Secretary of the Board of Governors and University Privacy Officer

Ryerson University



Godyne N.L. Sibay

Managing Partner, Ontario Region

McCarthy Tétrault LLP




Anne Spafford

Toronto Managing Partner

Lerners LLP



Ingrid Stefancic

Vice-President, Corporate and Legal Services and Corporate Secretary of LOGISTEC Corporation

The Chartered Governance Institute of Canada (CGIC) Fellow, Board member, Vice-President and Chair of Governance and Admissions Committee



Bryson A. Stokes

Firm Managing Partner, Toronto

Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP




Marie-Hélène Tremblay

Tax Partner- Montreal

Miller Thomson LLP



Abigail Turner


Harper Grey LLP



Michael P. Whitcombe

National Co-Chair, Private Equity and Chair, Board of Partners

McMillan LLP




Hilda Wong

Senior Vice President and General Counsel

First National Financial LP and Secretary Women General Counsel Canada



Andrea Wood

Chief Legal Officer, Corporate Secretary and Ombudsman





Stay Up to Date

Be sure to receive all updates about the Canadian Law Awards by signing up to our awards mailing list.

No spam, and unsubscribe anytime.

Copyright © 2020 Canadian Law Awards